top of page
EXPLORING MEDIA

Tate Modern Trip


As a part of the 280MAPA Postdigital Nations Systems and Networks module we went on a trip to London to look at the Modigliani exhibition. The reason for the trip is because the Modigliani exhibition has a virtual reality experience, using sophisticated VR equipment to recreate the studio that Modigliani worked in. This was by far my favourite part of the day, as I had never before used high-end VR. I could not believe how immersive it was and it made me completely forget that I was in a room surrounded by other people, and it really threw me when I looked into a mirror in the virtual reality but did not see my reflection, as I was not really there! The rest of the exhibition was extremely interesting. Modigliani’s art has a very specific style, focusing on the human body and distorting it. I thought this was interesting in relation to our lectures on postdigital bodies, as his interpretation of the human body is completely unique.

After we had explored the Modigliani exhibition we still had about an hour of our time remaining, therefore myself and a couple of friends had a quick look at the huge swing sets before setting off to the Media Networks exhibition. I must admit that this exhibition was, in my eyes, better than the Modigliani (apart from the VR bit which was outstanding). It linked in amazingly with the whole 280MAPA module and the artwork was breath-taking. The subjects explored through the art included: celebrity, feminism, pixels, communication, TV, surveillance, advertising and more. Below are a few photos of my favourite pieces of art. I wish we could have had more time to explore this exhibition in depth and I would definitely recommend going to have a look at it (especially as it is free!).

During the trip we had planned to film another ‘Behind the Scenes’ video for the 280MAPA coursework. However, as cameras were not permitted in the Modigliani exhibition this was impossible. Overall, the trip was really enjoyable and allowed me the opportunity to try out something completely new. It helped to put my learning into practical understanding, and I am excited to continue exploring new concepts in the 280MAPA module. To find out more about the subjects I have been studying as a part of this, go to Year Two, Digital Research Diary.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page